Kate Is Rising posted about a Blog Carnival and wrote a post about what works while healing .  Being, Kate Is Rising.

In her blog post Kate said, “What I’ve learned is that all of us are different and things that work for someone else might not work for another. There is no shame in that. We all deserve to have a self-designed healing path. Indeed it is what we all find in the end.”  I, too, have found I need to do what is helpful to me.  Keep that in mind as you read this post.

I need to keep on moving.  Every day I have a routine that I follow or I should say attempt to follow.  Some days I do better than others, but usually get most of the routine done.

I’m supposed to get up at 7:30.  I’m lucky to get up at 8:30 depending on how I sleep.  I make coffee, take my medication, eat breakfast, play an anagram game, stretch, brush and floss my teeth, wash my face, moisturize and comb my hair, and then begin my work of the day.  Beginning my work of the day is the most difficult part.  I would rather sit and read.

I need to do some aerobic activity because I’m uncomfortable with my size.  I like walking, but it’s too hot.  I am doing african dance and Rumba slowly and gently on Youtube.  Then I eat lunch and continue my work after doing more anagrams, and usually watch Keeping Up Appearances at 2.   Owen gets home about 5:30.  At five I cook dinner and Owen and I watch A Different World and Seinfeld.  Stretching again and a shower.  Then reading or listening to music.  Bedtime is usually at 10.  Of course this schedule varies, but this is basically what I do all day.  Oh, I forgot my time on the internet.  Let’s just say I need to work on that.

When I was depressed I had a very difficult time doing anything.  I was spacey, confused and exhausted.  If  I was able to take a shower, or wash a load of clothes, or cook dinner, the day was a success.  Most days I was able to do a few things.  It was a struggle.

As I said this is what works for me.  It may not work for you.  You have to find your own way and it can be a difficult journey, but worth the struggle.  You will find your way.

