For the first time in fifteen years I feel like I’m not in a hazy daze.  I’ve got some of my energy back.  This new drug has helped me to not be intimidated by the office manager of my new psychiatrist.  I am a  tall big black nappy haired woman.  I am also college educated.  I no longer live in the hood, though it will always be with me.  Many times I’m underestimated.  Sometimes that works in my favor.  People don’t see me coming.  Their defenses are down.  In the past dissociation and depression sapped my strength and made me unable to respond to bull-s&*t.  Now I can be myself a bit more.

So this officer manager told me that when I had an office visit to the psychiatrist I had a co-pay.  My insurance Company  and Explanation Of Benefits said I didn’t.  She said the insurance company had not paid for my visits. I asked her to call my insurance to find out what was going on.  She told me she didn’t have the time because she didn’t want to go on on hold.  I asked her how she was going to find out where the payment was?  She ignored my question and threatened me that if the insurance didn’t pay I would have to pay.

In my past life one of my jobs was as a secretary in charge of health insurance.  I called the insurance company and asked about my benefits.  I called several times because there are so many different plans sometimes the customer service agents get confused.

Three phone calls elicited the same information:  I did not have a co-pay as my EOB said.  Then I called to find if the office had received payment.  They had.  That’s why the office manager would not call.

The office manager asked me to send a copy of my Explanation Of Benefits to her.  Of course I sent it out that very day.  I asked my therapist to look at my EOB because she works with the same insurance company.  She said no, I didn’t have a co-pay.  She also told me to talk to the Dr. because she probably didn’t know what the office manager was doing.

A week after I sent the EOB to the office manager I had an appointment with the psychiatrist who is awesome. I asked the office manager if she had figured out what to do about my co-pay problem.

She said in a surly manner, “I’ll talk to you after your appointment.”  If she had taken care of the situation I saw no need to bring the doctor into it.  Unfortunately I had to tell the doctor about the problem.

I didn’t tell her everything though she specifically asked me, “What else did she say to you?”

I kept thinking to myself, “I don’t want trouble. Why do people have to bother me?”

She told me, “Don’t worry about it.  I will walk out with you and take care of it.”

I told you she is the best.  In the files the office manager had down that I owed a thirty dollar co-pay.  When I came out she kept insisting I has a thirty dollar co-pay.  When the doctor came out and showed me her another copy of the EOB (remember she already had it) she finally admitted that I didn’t have a co-pay and that the office owed me money.   I said she could give it back to me at my next visit in 6 weeks.

Now I have to decide if I want the money back.  It’s not about the money.  It’s about her trying to intimidate and lying to me.  I do need the money back but at the same time I don’t think the doctor is paid enough by the insurance.  I told the doctor she needed to re-negotiate her rate with the insurance or stop working with them. As a patient I shouldn’t know anything about the running of her business. Of course I will no longer be able to afford her, but I think I can find another psychiatrist.

This post is way too long.  There was more that happened, but I’m just too tired to write anymore.  You’re probably tired of reading.

