Many times I read something and cannot remember it clearly probably because of being divided up into parts and stressed out, so I thought, “What if I tried letting all my parts read different versions of a story according to their ages?

We read A Midsummer’s Night Dream by William Shakespeare or whoever wrote it.  It doesn’t matter to us.  For the parts under the age of eight I read Starting with Shakespeare: Successfully Introducing Shakespeare to Children by Pauline Nelson and Todd Daubert.  The little ones like being read to aloud.  Kids between eight and sixteen read Tales From Shakespeare by Charles and Mary Lamb.  Parts over the age of sixteen read the original play in  Old English text.

Everyone loved the play and didn’t feel that they were being left out, but I don’t think I understand the literary devices anymore than usual.  I can easily retell the story though.  Maybe we should watch the movie too.

