I’ve had a lot of pain in my life, and as I am learning, so have a lot of people I have met along the way.  Unfortunately, sometimes I feel sorry for myself when things do not go the way I thought they would.  I sit around, isolate myself, but I don’t think it is good for people with dissociation to spend too much time alone, at least it does not help me.  

When I spend too much time alone my I tend to be more susceptible to the distorted thinking from the past.  Many of us who were abused got used to surviving on our own because we did not know how to get help when we were younger, but now we can decide who we will have in our lives.  This is not easy because people can be unpredictable and sometimes they do things to hurt us.  We need to get used to being around other people even though we may be understandably sensitive. 

That is why I write this blog.  I want other people to know that they are not the only ones who have suffered and they are not alone.  I definitely have some of the same issues that they have.  And I’m going to admit I feel better after I share them with you.

